Set beside the church of the picturesque ironstone village of Lyddington, Lyddington Bede House originated as the medieval wing of a palace belonging to the Bishops of Lincoln.
By 1600 it had passed to Sir Thomas Cecil, son of Queen Elizabeth’s chief minister, who converted it into an almshouse for 12 poor ‘bedesmen’ over 30 years old and two women (over 45), all free of lunacy, leprosy or the French pox.
Visitors can wander through the bedesmen’s rooms, with their tiny windows and fireplaces, and view the former bishops’ Great Chamber on the first floor, with its beautifully carved ceiling cornice. Come and discover this delightful visitor attraction in Rutland.
Closed from 1st November to 31 March
Date From: 04/01/2010
Tel (1): 01572 822438
South out of Uppingham, follow brown signs for Lyddington Bede House.